That’s it – we are going …… :D

I can hardly contain myself. I have been chatting with a lovely lady  on Facebook who has just come back from Camp Bestival and have been hugely jealous. We tried to sort a festival out last year but we were too late for the tickets by the time we thought of it unfortunately. Anyway, the said lovely lady has really inspired me to pull my finger out ( she has 3 children, 1 of which has Asperger’s like J) and  try sort something out for this year- I feared I would be too late but no! Hurray! I found out about a little festival on August bank holiday going on at Grewelthorpe near Ripon ( Irony being I used to live in Ripon, so I can show the children all the sites too…they will be ready for a fesitival after mum has bored them rigid!) here it is :-

www.limetreefestival.co.uk

It looks incredible and there is so much for the children to do. I was sold on it the minute they stated they have an observatory for the children as J is solar system and space mad! Then there is ‘ weeny boppers, barefoot books and story telling , face painting, hair braiding…. they are going to love it I am sure. The organiser has been hugely helpful too as I asked random questions via email, all which may seem a little odd but I need to plan just in case J ( or M for that matter) decide it just isn’t for them, so many thanks to Karen Birdsall, I really appreciate your help.

I actually think I am going to treat myself to some more poi and relive my youth a little bit…..am sure the little ones will think it hilarious as mum twirls colourful streamers round whilst occasionally batting herself  in the head!  ( Must take the ashing line down for a bit of ‘ pre festival practice!)

I am sure it will be exhausting, exciting, terribly unpredictable and there may be a few wobbles along the way, but with support I am sure J will have a fabulous time… he is already grinning from ear to ear about camping and M has said she ‘ wants to dance, make a fairy and see a butterfly!’ It is something we will all remember forever and it can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

N.B. the title of this blog comes from my son’s very literal understanding of ‘ magic carpet ride’ ….. he believes this to be a ‘car pit’ ( as in ‘ sand pit’) and demonstrates this with a plastic lid and toy car. The magic comes in when the toy car is covered with the lid and it disappears!

