I can sleep better now

On Tuesday I went to visit the educational psychologist again to look at strategies that can help J when he is anxious or angry ( or both) We have already put into place a basic visual timetable for ‘ who is getting up first’ and I believe this is why we have had such a lovely weekend- calm, relaxed and fun – only a couple of ‘ wobbles’ but on the whole he handled things amazingly well. Also, it hasn’t been as sunny and bright these last few days and I  think that may have contributed too- J cannot stand bright sunlight and if it has been coming through the windows at  school, it will have irritated him but he won’t have said anything and his anxiety will have built throughout the mornings.

Anyway, it was a very positive meeting and it seems we are doing all the right things to help J, which is great to know we are all ‘ singing from the same hymn sheet’ as it were. I also think we have a very good psychologist as I know of  some who don’t seem very organised and you have to chase for basic information and, J’s just seems very child centred and I have every faith in her. I asked about school as J starts full time in September, which I am dreading on so many levels – first of all , he is my ‘ baby boy’ and I am just going to miss him like crazy- it brings a tear to me eye just thinking about the fact he won’t be having lunch with mum and his sister. Then of course there is the fact that my boy is struggling at school – even if it has gone largely unnoticed by the untrained eye. he is lonely, he is anxious and he is frustrated and to see this in a little boy of 4 , your own little boy, is heart breaking. He should be running about with his friends, being a super hero, playing football, talking about ‘Ben 10’ instead he is crumbling inside because the rooms are too bright for him, because he doesn’t know how to join in games, because no-one shares his love of the solar system or ants and half the time he doesn’t ‘ get’ what people are communicating to him. Thankfully, the ed psych knows this… and J will be straight on to school action plus in September.  Everyone will know he is not being ‘ naughty’ he will have support and I have every faith that my boy stands a really good chance of reaching his full potential with this help in place. Hallelujah. < raises a glass> ‘ To my handsome , brave, clever, unique, funny, lovable little man… we are with you every step of the way.’

Leave a Reply

N.B. the title of this blog comes from my son’s very literal understanding of ‘ magic carpet ride’ ….. he believes this to be a ‘car pit’ ( as in ‘ sand pit’) and demonstrates this with a plastic lid and toy car. The magic comes in when the toy car is covered with the lid and it disappears!

